Three NDSU Bison Have Been Named to the Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

North Dakota State Athletics Logo
North Dakota State Athletics Logo

     On Thursday, Aug. 4 a trio from NDSU were named to the 2022 Buck Buchanan Award preseason watch list. The Bison named to the watch list are defensive end Spencer Waege, linebacker James Kaczor, and safety Michael Tutsie.

     The Buck Buchanan Award is given out annually to the national defensive player of the year at the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision level. The Bison have had nine finalists for the award including 2014 winner, defensive end Kyle Emanuel.

     Wage is a senior from South Shore, S.D. and is returning to NDSU for his sixth season after he suffered a season-ending injury during the third game of the 2021 season. Waege has appeared in 42 career games that includes 24.5 tackles for loss, 11.5 sacks, four pass breakups, and three forced fumbles. In the spring of 2021, Waege was a second team FCS All-American with his 8.0 tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks in nine games played.

     Kaczor is a senior from St. Cloud, Minn. He is exercising his fifth year of eligibility after being limited to nine games this past season. In the spring of 2021 Kaczor was a second team All-American with 70 tackles in eight games. He has played in 43 career games at NDSU racking up 192 total tackles, 10 tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks, and four pass breakups.

     Tutsie is also a sixth-year senior. The Indianapolis, Ind. native, was a first team All-American last season. He has turned into an ironman for NDSU over the past few seasons having started 41 consecutive games at strong safety. Tutsie has appeared in 43 career games for the Bison with 253 total tackles, 7.5 tackles for loss, and 10 interceptions. He is currently 10th in school history with 136 career solo tackles.

     The Bison will kick off the 2022 season hosting Drake on Saturday, Sept. 3, at 2:30 p.m.


2022 Buck Buchanan Award Preseason Watch List

Defensive Linemen

Brevin Allen, Campbell, Sr., 6-4, 265 (2021 Finalist)

Ty French, Gardner-Webb, Jr., 6-3, 230

Jeblonski Green, South Carolina State, R-Jr., 6-3, 265

Malik Hamm, Lafayette, Sr., 6-3, 260

Jonathan Hammond, Davidson, Jr., 6-2, 227

Titus Leo, Wagner, Gr., 6-4, 245 (2020 and 2021 Finalist)

Jordan Lewis, Southern, Jr., 6-3, 195 (2020 Buck Buchanan Award recipient)

Nate Lynn, William & Mary, Jr., 6-3, 265 (2021 Finalist)

Devonnsha Maxwell, Chattanooga, Sr., 6-3, 296 (2021 Finalist)

Clay Patterson, Yale, Jr., 6-3, 267

Kevin Peprah, Sacred Heart, Sr., 6-2, 235

Markel Perry, Sam Houston, R-Sr., 6-2, 220

Josiah Silver, New Hampshire, So., 6-2, 232

B.J. Thompson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr., 6-6, 210

Spencer Waege, North Dakota State, Sr., 6-5, 278


Kelechi Anyalebechi, UIW, Gr., 6-0, 240 (2021 Finalist)

Adam Bock, South Dakota State, Jr., 6-1, 215 (2021 Finalist)

Spencer Cuvelier, Northern Iowa, R-Sr., 6-3, 245

Jacob Dobbs, Holy Cross, Sr., 6-0, 232 (2021 Finalist)

John Ford II, UT Martin, LB, Gr., 6-3, 230

Ryan Greenhagen, Fordham, Gr., 6-1, 245 (2020 Finalist)

David Hoage, Northern Colorado, Jr., 6-3, 250

Matthew Jackson, Eastern Kentucky, R-Sr., 6-2, 205 (2021 Finalist)

James Kaczor, North Dakota State, Sr., 6-0, 212

Isaiah Land, Florida A&M, Sr., 6-4, 215 (2021 Buck Buchanan Award recipient)

Patrick O’Connell, Montana, R-Sr., 6-2, 225 (2021 Finalist)

Stone Snyder, VMI, Sr., 6-3, 240 (2020 and 2021 Finalist)

Tristan Wheeler, Richmond, R-Jr., 6-2, 228

Defensive Backs

Anthony Adams, Portland, State, Sr., 6-0, 185 (2019 Finalist)

Montrae Braswell, Missouri State, Jr., 6-0, 190

Justin Ford, Montana, R-Sr., 6-2, 190 (2021 Finalist)

Robby Hauck, Montana, R-Sr., 5-10, 185

Ferlando Jordan, Southeastern Louisiana, R-Sr., 6-0, 180

Michael Tutsie, North Dakota State, Sr., 5-11, 193

Kedrick Whitehead, Delaware, Sr., 5-11, 195