Three Bison Have Been Named to the Summit League Tournament All-Tournament Team

NDSU Bison Athletics
NDSU Bison Athletics

     After a weekend filled with softball, three North Dakota State players are being honored. Paige Vargas, Skylar Padgett, and Nicole Licea were all named to the Summit League Championship All-Tournament Team.

     Vargas earned her second all-tournament honor with the Bison, having also been named the tournament MVP in 2019. She posted a 2-1 record with a 1.19 earned run average in 17 ⅔ innings. Vargas only allowed three runs on eight hits with no walks while controlling the circle. She also racked up 12 strikeouts and held opponent batters to just .129 hitting. She pitched one shutout in the tournament.

     Padgett was a pest for opponent pitchers throughout the tournament hitting .500 in four games. She tallied five hits that included a double, one RBI, and three runs scored.

     Licea flashed some gold glove style defense to earn her spot on the all-tournament team. She finished with a team high 11 assists at shortstop, including six putouts. On the bases she scored two runs for NDSU.

     Three all-tournament team honorees are the most the Bison have had since the 2019 tournament. The Bison won the tournament title and had five players make the all-tournament team.


All-Tournament Team

Tori Kniesche, South Dakota State - MVP

Lexi Burkhardt, Omaha

Jocelyn Carrillo, South Dakota State

Cassie Castaneda, North Dakota

Lexi D’Ambrossio, Kansas City

Lauren Eamiguel, South Dakota

Grace Glanzer, South Dakota State

Cylie Halvorson, South Dakota State

Nicole Licea, North Dakota State

Kamryn Meyer, Omaha

Gabby Moser, South Dakota

Sydney Nuismer, Omaha

Emma Osmundson, South Dakota State

Skylar Padgett, North Dakota State

Paige Vargas, North Dakota State

Jamie White, Omaha