Five Bison Softball Players Have Earned All-Summit League Honors

     A handful of players from North Dakota State have earned Summit League Softball All-League Awards. The All-Conference teams are selected by Summit League head coaches.

     Two Bison are headlining the first team selections with Cameryn Maykut and Dez Cardenas earning the honor for the first time in their careers.

     Maykut is a senior who was selected to the first team as an infielder while Cardenas, a junior, was selected to the outfield. Senior pitcher Paige Vargas, and sophomores Emilee Buringa and Reanna Rudd all were named to the second team for NDSU.

     Maykut started every game for NDSU and was tied with three other Bison including Cardenas for the team and league lead with 13 doubles. The first baseman was second on the team with a .331 batting average with a Summit League leading 48 RBI’s on the season. Maykut also hit four home runs and was top 10 in the league with 51 hits. Plus she scored 29 runs and drew 16 walks.

     Cardenas also started every game this season for NDSU in right field. She led the team with a .353 batting average. Cardenas added two triples and a home run along with her 29 RBI’s and 29 runs scored in the regular season. The right fielder also drew 16 walks and was top 10 in the league with a .425 on-base percentage.

     Vargas made 24 pitching appearances this season, posting a 14-9 record with a 2.32 earned run average, good for fourth best in the Summit League. She threw 153 ⅔ innings with four shutouts that included a two-hitter gem against Virginia. Vargas finished the regular season with 140 strikeouts in her 153 ⅔ innings of work. She was also named to the Summit League Second Team in 2019.

     Buringa was an everyday starter in centerfield, playing in every regular season game for NDSU. She finished the season with a .311 batting average while racking up 46 hits and drawing 25 walks. Buringa also posted a team best .425 on-base percentage. She ended up with 16 extra base hits that included nine doubles, a triple, and six home runs. Buringa played perfectly in the field with 66 putouts and two outfield assists without committing an error.

     Rudd earned a spot on the second team at designated hitter/utility player. She led the Bison with eight home runs, good for seventh in the Summit League. Rudd wrapped up the regular season with 26 RBI’s and 17 runs scored.


2022 All-Summit League Softball Teams and Individual Awards

Player of the Year: Rozelyn Carrillo, South Dakota State

Pitcher of the Year: Grace Glanzer, South Dakota State

Defensive Player of the Year: Rozelyn Carrillo, South Dakota State

Freshman of the Year: Brooke Ellestad, St. Thomas

Coach of the Year: Krista Wood, South Dakota State


First Team

P – Grace Glanzer, South Dakota State

P – Tori Kniesche, South Dakota State

P – Kamryn Meyer, Omaha

C – Allison Yoder, South Dakota State

INF – Rozelyn Carrillo, South Dakota State

INF – Brooke Ellestad, St. Thomas

INF – Cylie Halvorson, South Dakota State

INF – Cameryn Maykut, North Dakota State

INF – Aleesia Sainz, South Dakota

OF – Dez Cardenas, North Dakota State

OF – Izzy Eltze, Omaha

OF – Kloe Hilbrenner, Kansas City

OF – Madi Moore, North Dakota

DP – Jordyn Pender, South Dakota


Second Team

P – Clara Edwards, South Dakota

P – Mia Hoveland, Kansas City

P – Paige Vargas, North Dakota State

C – Bela Goerke, South Dakota

INF – Cheyanne Masterson, South Dakota State

INF – Lynsey Tucker, Omaha

INF – Tatum Villotta, South Dakota

INF – Ally Vonfeldt, Kansas City

INF – Jamie White, Omaha

OF – Emilee Buringa, North Dakota State

OF – Jocelyn Carrillo, South Dakota State

OF – Gabby Moser, South Dakota

OF – Courtney Wilson, South Dakota

DP – Reanna Rudd, North Dakota State