Matt Entz Is A Stats Perform FCS Eddie Robinson Award Finalist

     North Dakota State University football head coach Matt Entz has been named one of 17 finalists for the Stats Perform FCS Eddie Robinson Award. The award is given to the national coach of the year in the Division I football championship subdivision.

     For the second time in his three years as the Bison’s head coach, Entz has led his team to an outright Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC) championship. NDSU ended the regular season with a 10-1 overall record and 7-1 in the MVFC. The Bison have earned the No. 2 overall seed in the NCAA FCS playoffs and are making their 12th straight postseason appearance. Entz was the 2019 FCHA FCS Coach of the Year along with being the runner-up for the Eddie Robinson Award.

     In three seasons as head coach, Entz has a 33-4 overall record, including a 20-3 Missouri Valley record.

     This is the 11th time a Bison head coach has been nominated for the award. Former head coach Craig Bohl won the award in 2012 and 2013.

     The award is named after legendary Grambling State coach Eddie Robinson. It was first presented in 1987 and is celebrating its 35th season. The Eddie Robinson Award is voted on by a 50 member national media panel. The winner will be announced on December 14.


2021 Stats Perform FCS Eddie Robinson Award Finalists

Brian Bohannon, Kennesaw State (Big South)

Team Record: 10-1, 7-0; Notable: Outright Big South champ is unbeaten against non-FBS teams


Colby Carthel, Stephen F. Austin (AQ7)

Team Record: 8-3, 4-2; Notable: Lumberjacks have earned first playoff bid since 2014


Glenn Caruso, St. Thomas (Pioneer)

Team Record: 7-3, 6-2; Notable: After move up from Division III, Tommies tied for third-best PFL record


Bob Chesney, Holy Cross (Patriot)

Team Record: 9-2, 6-0; Notable: Crusaders beat FBS program UConn, pushed league win streak to 11


Matt Entz, North Dakota State (MVFC)

Team Record: 10-1, 7-1; Notable: Outright MVFC champ has earned the No. 2 seed in playoffs


Mark Ferrante, Villanova (CAA)

Team Record: 9-2, 7-1; Notable: CAA co-champ earned automatic playoff bid with win at James Madison


K.C. Keeler, Sam Houston (AQ7)

Team Record: 10-0, 6-0; Notable: 2016 Robinson Award recipient has led reigning FCS champ to No. 1 playoff seed


Chris Merritt, Bryant (Northeast)

Team Record: 7-4, 5-2; Notable: Bulldogs knocked off NEC champ Sacred Heart in best season since 2014


Eric Morris, Incarnate Word (Southland)

Team Record: 9-2, 7-1; Notable: Cardinals captured first outright Southland title and automatic playoff bid


Bobby Petrino, Missouri State (MVFC)

Team Record: 8-3, 6-2; Notable: Bears finished second in an MVFC that has six playoff teams


Oliver “Buddy” Pough, South Carolina State (MEAC)

Team Record: 6-5, 5-0; Notable: After MEAC sweep, Bulldogs to play in Celebration Bowl for first time


Deion Sanders, Jackson State (SWAC)

Team Record: 10-1, 8-0; Notable: Tigers to play in SWAC championship game for first time since 2013


Randy Sanders, East Tennessee State (Southern)

Team Record: 10-1, 7-1; Notable: Outright SoCon champ earned No. 7 playoff seed


Jason Simpson, Tennessee-Martin (OVC)

Team Record: 9-2, 5-1; Notable: Outright OVC champ posted program-record nine-game win streak


Troy Taylor, Sacramento State (Big Sky)

Team Record: 9-2, 8-0; Notable: 2019 Robinson Award recipient has led Hornets to Big Sky title, No. 4 playoff seed


Buddy Teevens, Dartmouth (Ivy)

Team Record: 9-1, 6-1; Notable: Ivy co-champ has gone at least 8-2 in six of last seven seasons


Brent Vigen, Montana State (Big Sky)

Team Record: 9-2, 7-1; Notable: First-time head coach has led Bobcats to No. 7 playoff seed