North Dakota State Superintendent: State Board of Higher Education announces list of candidates for two open positions

Courtesy: North Dakota Office of the Governor
Courtesy: North Dakota Office of the Governor

(Bismarck, ND) -- North Dakota leadership is nearing the end of its selection process regarding education officials.

Kirsten Baesler, North Dakota's State School Superintendent, says six candidates are being considered for the state's Board of Higher Education. The candidates are competing for two open seats on the board, which oversee eleven colleges and universities across the state. 

  • Curtis Biller: Fargo, Human Resources Consultant, Strengths Inc.
  • Katrina Christiansen: Jamestown, Professor of Engineering at the University of Jamestown;
  • Dustin Gawrylow: Bismarck, Political Consultant, Policy Matters LLC;
  • Timothy Mihalick: Minot, Business Development Officer, First Western Bank & Trust, who is vice chairman of the board; Incumbent on State Board of Higher Education
  • Stanley Schaue: Bismarck, Director of Assessment, North Dakota Department of Public Instruction; and
  • Mevan Wijetunga: Grand Forks, Cardiologist, Altru Health System.

Board members can serve two four-year terms. Baelser and four others on a nominating committee will send a group of three finalists for each of the two seats to North Dakota's Governor. The Governor will select the two members and send the choices to the North Dakota Senate, who will decide to affirm the choices. The candidates can serve two four-year terms. 

You can learn more about North Dakota's Department of Public Instruction by clicking here