North Dakota Senators vote to acquit Trump, Minnesota Senators vote guilty


The United States Senate has officially acquitted the President of the United States, Donald J. Trump, on both articles of impeachment that had been brought to trial.

The trial, which began on January 16, 2020, was the result of an impeachment of Trump by the United States House of Representatives in December 2019. The House passed the two articles, one having to do with an alleged abuse of power by Trump, and the second having to do with an obstruction of Congress, also by Trump.

On article one, the abuse of power article, 52 Senators voted Trump not guilty, while 48 voted him guilty. North Dakota’s Senators, Senator Kevin Cramer and John Hoeven, voted not guilty; while Senators Tina Smith and Amy Klobuchar, of Minnesota, both voted Trump guilty.

In article two, the obstruction of Congress article, 53 Senators voted the President not guilty, while 47 voted guilty. As was in the first article, North Dakota’s Cramer and Hoeven voted not guilty, while Smith and Klobuchar, of Minnesota, voted him guilty.

3:23 P.M. UPDATE: The vote has ended on the first article of impeachment, having to do with President Trump's abuse of power. 

The United States Senate has acquitted Trump by a vote of 52-48. Both Senators from North Dakota, Kevin Cramer and John Hoeven, voted not guilty. Both Senators from Minnesota, Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith, voted guilty.

The vote on the second article of impeachment will begin momentarily.

ORIGINAL STORY: The voting has begun for the impeachment of the President of the United States, President Donald J. Trump. 

Stay tuned to AM 1100 The Flag, AM 1090 KTGO, and for updates on this developing breaking news story.