North Dakota FFA provides mini-grants to promote Ag Education


The ND FFA Foundation has given 25 $350-$500 mini-grants to educators, teachers, and organizations to promote agriculture in North Dakota classrooms. The mini-grants were made possible through a grant received by the ND FFA Foundation from the North Dakota Department of Agriculture. The program, called Ag in the Classroom, was designed to bring agriculture to all types of K-12 classrooms and learning environments. 2019 marks the 16th consecutive year the ND FFA Foundation has been able to provide these grants.


To encourage the continuation of programming, curriculum and lesson planning, the ND FFA Foundation will provide these mini-grants through two separate academic years. $12,000 has been awarded for the academic year of 2019-2020 to the following recipients: 



Anna Kemmer/SRCTC - Oakes

Bailey Hawbaker/Stanley FFA

Breanna Bregel/Kindred

Cameron Young/Edgeley Public School

Carie Moore/ND Agri-Women

Daniel Spellerberg/SRCTC - Oakes

David Leier/Killdeer FFA

Desi Severance/Wyndmere Ag Ed

Donna Anderson/Eddy/Foster/Wells County Ext.

Elizabeth Neshem/ND Stockmen’s Association

Gabes Kieffer/May-Port CG

Goldie Loepp/SRCTC - Oakes

Heather Riemer/Garrison High School

Johnna Varty/Berthold FFA

Kevin Baumgarn/Lakota Public School

Kristi Tonnessen/Rugby High School

Lori Helm/BBCC 4-H 

Marita Rau/Finley-Sharon Public School

Misty Steeke/Scranton FFA

Nikki Fideldy-Doll/Center FFA

Shaundra Ziemann-Bolinske/NDSU Extension-Burleigh County

Wiliam Fritz/SVACTC

“We had fantastic applicants this year and it was great to be able to learn about what they plan to do with the mini-grants,” says Tommy Winders, newly hired Sponsor & Program Coordinator for the Foundation.  “We feel very fortunate to be able to provide these funds and are excited to see the opportunities for ag. education that will come from these grants.”

Applications will also be available in September of 2020 for this year’s recipients and others to apply for new or additional funding for the 2020-2021 academic year.